ESTPA East of Scotland Track Cycling Promoters Association

Latest news

Latest News

It is with great sadness that we have been informed of the sudden passing of Doreen Harris last Sunday.  Doreen , along with the late Ray Harris, were great supporters of track activities at Meadowbank.

Doreen was ESCA treasurer for many years and central to the success and running of Dunedin CC.

Our sympathies go to her sons, Andrew and Nicky, at this sad time.

A funeral service will be held on Thursday 1 August at the Borders Crematorium, Melrose at 2pm to which all are invited.

The East of Scotland Track Promoters Association wishes to offer its congratulations to Brian Annable who has been awarded an OBE for services to cycling in the Queens Birthday Honours.

Brian (83) is the current Secretary of the East of Scotland Track Promoters Association and has served cycling for over 40 years in numerous capacities. He is widely credited as being the driving force behind Scotlands unparalleled success on the track having founded and lead the City of Edinburgh Racing Club to become the most successful British club in the discipline. Brian’s vision and dedication played a substantial part in setting up Sir Chris Hoy for his future Olympic successes.

Brians cycling career started as a young 16 year old in the Leicestershire town of Coalville where he enjoyed many local successes. Within a couple of years his talent on the track was identified by the legendary Benny Foster who selected him for the National Squad. Much success followed and Brian was a member of the ‘long squad’ for the 1952 Helsinki Olympics where the team pursuit squad took a bronze medal – the only British medal of that games.

Around that time, Brian qualified as an architect and concentrated on his professional career with cycling taking very much a back seat. During the 1970’s Brian and the family moved to Edinburgh and with the newly built velodrome at Meadowbank for the 1970 Commonwealth Games Brian became involved in cycling again through his son Tom.

In 1982 Brian, together with Alan Nisbet, started The City of Edinburgh Racing Club with the aim of wining medals at the British Track Championships, something which had never been done before. Since then the club has won 96 British Championships and 321 British medals. Many club members have won medals at Commonwealth Games, European and World Championships and Olympic Games, including the legendary Sir Chris Hoy.

Around that time, having taken early retirement from his position as City Architect of Edinburgh, Brian was elected General Secretary and Records Secretary of the East of Scotland Cycling Association, positions held for nearly 30 years. In 2006 the East of Scotland Cycling Association awarded him their Certificate of Honour, the highest award the Association can bestow.

In 2010, Brian’s achievements and dedication to cycling at UK level was recognised when he was inducted into the inaugural British Cycling Hall of Fame.

Brian was for many years the organiser of the Peebles Classic APR and has been a key member of the promotions team at Meadowbank responsible for the Meadowbank Track League, Meadowbank GP, Edinburgh GP and Scottish Championships. Brian was due to once again run the 42nd edition of the Meadowbank GP earlier this month before barriers from the sports governing body prevented the event from taking place.

Events of the last few months have been a very difficult and challenging time for Brian and many individuals would have taken the decision to walk away from the sport. It is only through Brian’s sheer determination, love and passion for the sport of cycling that he has stuck with the sport and has come out of the challenges with as much determination and vigour as ever.

The honour bestowed upon Brian by the Queen is highly deserved for his many years unstinted dedication to the sport of cycling.

Due to rain, Meadowbank Track League on 11 June 2013 has been cancelled.

ESTPA has welcomed the announcement by the City of Edinburgh Council to allocate £1.2m of capital funding for a planned cycling facility hub proposed to be built on the site of the Jack Kane Centre in Craigmiller, Edinburgh.

The plans include a new track facility, 1km road circuit and BMX track.

ESTPA is however concerned that the specification for the track may not be suitable for sporting requirements resulting in a poor return on investment for the City of Edinburgh Council. It has been reported that the track specification is a large outdoor concrete track. In Scotlands existing climate and with the future climate widely predicted to only get more extreme and wetter, such a facility would not only be unusable during much of the winter period, but is likely to be unusable for a longer period during the year overall. It is hoped that representations will be made to ensure that any proposed track facility meets the requirements of the Scottish Cycling Facilities Strategy which calls for a 200m indoor regional track to be provided to act as a feeder facility to the national Sir Chris Hoy velodrome in Glasgow.

Last month Sir Chris Hoy called upon the Council to provide a basic indoor training facility as a replacement for Meadowbank. Lets hope that City of Edinburgh Council listen to the wise words of advice given by Sir Chris Hoy.

It is with deep regret that the organisers of the 43rd Edinburgh Meadowbank Grand Prix announce the cancellation of this years event due to be held on 8 and 9 June 2013.

Despite significant efforts and negotiation, the funding required to allow the promotion to continue has not been able to be secured in time, despite funds being available.  It is regrettable that in the circumstances it was not possible to obtain the necessary co-operation of the governing bodies to ensure the promotion of this years event, resulting in the loss of Scotland’s biggest major track cycling event featuring international riders and the loss of three major British national league events (Sprint, Endurance and Womens Omnium).

All entry fees shall be refunded to those riders who had already entered. The organisers apologise to the many riders who will be left disappointed by the loss of this event.